Site icon Premium Politics

Edo APC gives tickets to 14 absentee Assembly members

Oyo APC inaugurates presidential, gov campaign council

The Edo State chapter of the All Progressives Congress on Tuesday said the 14 state lawmakers elected on its platform in 2019 but denied their seats will be given an automatic ticket for the same position in the 2023 elections.

The state Secretary of the party, Lawrence Okah, disclosed this in Benin City during the official declaration of interest by Osaro Obazee to vie for the party ticket to represent the Oredo Federal Constituency in the House of Representative.

He said, “The 14 lawmakers from our party have the right of first refusal because of the way they were treated by the government of Godwin Obaseki. They have remained with the APC despite all that they went through.”

“The tickets will only be vied for if any of them decides not to contest for the same position again.”

He continued, “Osaro Obazee has done well. He has been the mayor of the city, he has done very well and this is for people to learn that patriotism is very important. We know what he did when he was chairman of Oredo Local Government Area.”

On his part, Obazee said he decided to contest because the people needed improved representation and that his antecedent coupled with the disenchantment with the ruling Peoples’ Democratic Party would enable him to win the election if he gets the ticket of the APC.

He said, “I am a consultant in political affairs in my local government. I am not trying to praise myself but I am coming from the grassroots and I have done my sampling; so I am not afraid that if I get the ticket of the party, I will be contesting against a ruling government.”

Exit mobile version